Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: HELP NEEDED

HELP NEEDED 2 years 2 months ago #349154

hi i am new to caravaning and have just brought a bailey senator oklahoma 2003 lenght 23'10"
miro 1222kgs   mtplm 1491kgs and was looking into buying a
 ford mondeo diesel estate 2.0l tdci titanium x year 08 and was really needing assurance that this car would be ok for towing and was wondering if you could help with my quiery many thanks
The administrator has disabled public write access.

HELP NEEDED 2 years 2 months ago #349155

Hi frantastic.

Do you know the kerbweight of your Mondeo? If you get its kerbweight which should be on the logbook then divide that by 100 then multiply by 85, this will give you the recommended 85% . Of the top of my head your car would need to be around 1700kg. But you can legaly tow upto 100%. Also check the manufacturer legal towing weight which hopefully will be 1500kg or more.

Dougie.....

Olympus 534 hitched to an  Antara 2.0ltr cdti S

HELP NEEDED 2 years 2 months ago #349156

• emmerson
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1

Hi Fantastic, and welcome. I can't speak for the Mondeo, as I've never owned one, but they do appear to be well-liked on this forum.
However,(and this is a purely personal opinion) I would say that it would be rather under-powered for such a large van. As the old saying goes "there ain't no substitute for cubic centimetres".

It's better in a Royale!

HELP NEEDED 2 years 2 months ago #349157

• Gafferbill
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Keep active be happy and stay safe
  • Thank you received: 7

Hello frantastic and welcome to the forum.

You may like to view these Practical Caravan guides.
They explain what you need to find out to decide on a suitable tow car for your caravan and if you are currently licensed to drive it.

http://www.practicalcaravan.com/advice/info-you-need-you-buy-towcar 

http://www.practicalcaravan.com/advice/are-you-licensed-tow