Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: Thetford Fridge Venting In to Coachman VIP 460/2

Thetford Fridge Venting In to Coachman VIP 460/2 1 year 3 months ago #431885

• ericd2477
  • Fresh Boarder
Problem is fumes coming into caravan when using Thetford Fridge on GAS.
I have been caravanning for 30 years now and have used Fridges on Gas most of that time. Electrolux, Dometic and Thetford (Norcold) over that time I have had Two major problems with them .
1. Electrolux Fridge fitted incorrectly and vented fumes into Caravan . This nearly killed our family. But was a simple fix as the fridge vent missed the external flue when assembled at Lunar.
2. Thetford N97 Fridge Venting fumes into Coachman 470/2 Caravan - Solution was to try to reseal cabinet.
Then it was a list as long as my arm of Faults with the Thetford N97 Fridge Burners x 4 , Circuit Board, Digital Display and finally the fault that killed it corrosion of the Gas Cooling unit vented all the gas and Thetford could not supply a new one. £800 for new fridge.

So I got a New Caravan and compromised on the Fridge Thetford. I thought they must have sorted the problems out by now .
How wrong was I !!! Been out in the van 5 times now and the fumes are that strong my wife wont sit on the same side as the fridge.

I removed the vent covers and to my horror it was the same setup of a flue which vents into the Cabinet but worse than before because Coachman have fitted a Double Baffle at the top of the Cabinet which actually Traps the Hot Gasses Inside the Cabinet.

This would NEVER be allowed in a HOUSE WHY is it ALLOWED in A CONFINED CARAVAN ???????
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Thetford Fridge Venting In to Coachman VIP 460/2 1 year 3 months ago #431902

• Raywood
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 518